FLUSH YESTERDAY AWAY

Social Media Chat Histories Should Reset Every 24 Hours

A fresh start every day

Piree Lua
The Pirella
Published in
4 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Artist Unknown, Early 16th Century Source: Wikimedia

Don’t meet your heroes, they say!

I looked up one of my favourite actresses on Twitter and my brain is agog listening to the drivel. What a shame, but she’s allowed to be a wokie outside of acting... so who else shall I look up?

Oh, I know! That guy I like reading on here!

Oh no! Wish I hadn’t!

Now I have to block him because I will never ever unsee the misogynist crap he’s peddling away as humour on his timeline. It’s so different from who he is in the long-form articles he writes that I wonder if he hires someone to ghostwrite them for him.

Social media is like alcohol

My friend won’t let her husband drink vodka because it turns him into an exceptional git.

Different social media platforms do similar things to people.

  • Some can’t handle mixing platforms: They’ll be gurus in one place and endorphin-dependent shameless mucksters somewhere else.
  • Some people can handle whatever’s being served: You won’t see them being little Buddhas on one platform and denigrating women on another. When they surprise you with…

--

--

Piree Lua
The Pirella

Silver-haired bird ~ Haven’t drunk the woke-aid ~ British-Asian writer ~ Writing about you (probably) pireelua@gmail.com