A Non-Comprehensive List of Things My 30s Gave Me Without My Permission

(Some of them are okay)

Frankie
the place between
2 min readDec 20, 2016

--

  1. Complete intolerance for ill-fitting bed sheets
  2. A weird, sharp pain in the knee of the leg I use to shift gears while driving, at precisely the angle needed to shift gears
  3. The constant, nagging thought, “This is such a waste,” while wrapping Christmas presents, countered by Oh MY GOD I can’t wait to see their faces
  4. Wicked fucking heartburn
  5. Goddamn dandruff
  6. A begrudging but fiercely loyal addiction to coffee and an intolerance for those who cannot abide by this necessity in my mornings
  7. A third as many fucks as my 20s (both kinds, le sigh)
  8. Two pant sizes
  9. A deeper love for my own body and the diverse bodies of others than I ever could have imagined feeling
  10. Give me some fucking cake
  11. The need for 9 hours of sleep every night or I regress into an angry toddler (literally all activities must be scheduled around this need)
  12. The understanding that guilt is the primary currency in the economy of my family, and I can opt out anytime
  13. More alone time than I want
  14. Less alone time than I want
  15. The submission to preferring comfort over coolness
  16. People who know what ADHD looks like and who told me at 32 that I had it real bad
  17. The quiet relief of knowing Ihave ADHD and that there’s an external reason for why I’m like this
  18. A metabolism that clutches tight to every cookie but acts like it didn’t even see those fucking carrots
  19. Even less tolerance for patriarchy, non-living wages, and bad TV movies
  20. WANTING ALL THE DRESSES
  21. No desire to wear all the dresses
  22. The creeping suspicion — and sad resignation to the fact — that I really won’t figure out money without learning how to budget
  23. A desire to nest so hard that I have to actively avoid Target and IKEA
  24. That thing where every time I see a kid or a baby I fall in love and everything feels okay again, especially if they’re wearing a funny hat or singing

Add yours in the comments!

Find out more at www.thewildfrancesca.com & on Instagram

For a new publication at the intersection of witchery + social equity, check out Witches Rise here on Medium

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Frankie
the place between

Queer witch writer & artist. Unapologetic wildling. Mental health maven. A little non-binary. Into the unconscious & the uncomfortable.