The Luscious Luxury of Staying the Fuck Inside

While winter does its thing

Frankie
the place between
2 min readDec 17, 2016

--

Full disclosure: I worked on and off as a park ranger for years and often had to work outdoors in freezing temperatures, so please know that I write this with every ounce of knowing how it feels to be unable to do it.

This week I’m off work. I don’t have to go anywhere I don’t expressly want to, and I have plenty of beans and rice to make it through til the weather breaks.

I am delighted. There is this particular feeling I experience when the weather is a disaster (like a nonstop ice-storm all day long that breaks a six-foot shrub in your garden in half) and I don’t have to leave the house.

I don’t even know what the feeling is exactly; it’s not quite plain old safety, and it’s not quite the feeling of having a little vacation. It’s somewhere between relief, winning the lottery, and this other feeling I get when I have permission to craft shit all day.

That’s right. I have a special feeling for when I’m trapped in the house by winter weather and I get to sew, embroider, print, paint, or just organize my supplies so I can touch them and love them. It also feels good to read and drink hot tea on days like this, but sometimes I don’t have the patience for that; I want to be making.

Today I worked on a Christmas gift for my niece and started a quilt (only my second!) for a new baby in my life that’s arriving in February.

Ahhhhh…yeah. That’s good shit.

GIVE ME ALL THE CRAFTING

thanks for reading ~ more at www.thewildfrancesca.com & on Instagram & the Facebook

For a new publication at the intersection of witchery + social equity, check out Witches Rise here on Medium

--

--

Frankie
the place between

Queer witch writer & artist. Unapologetic wildling. Mental health maven. A little non-binary. Into the unconscious & the uncomfortable.