Auto Deceit, Part 4

Nanci Arvizu
Plan-B Vibe
Published in
7 min readDec 5, 2018

--

Photo by Adrien Olichon on Unsplash

Tammy had never ridden in a squad car before. Certainly not in the backseat. “I’d rather ride in the suburban if you don’t mind.” At least the back windows were tinted darker. She really didn’t want to be seen in the back of a cop car. But if this was how it was going to be, she’d be sure to use this image to her fullest advantage.

The dark-skinned officer behind the wheel turned to look at her over his shoulder. “I’m sorry ma’am, no room. I’m taking you.”

Pulling her cell phone out, she tapped open the Facebook app and went to live streaming. “Updating everyone. The police are taking me,” she covered her quivering lip with a shaking hand, letting her fingers dangled beneath her chin provided better contrast for her viewing audience. “I don’t know where they’re taking me.” She held the device up so the camera was above her, looking down into the back seat of the cruiser. “This is terrible, I don’t know where I’m going or why and they’ve got me in the back of a cop car.” A sob escaped her lips and tears welled over onto her cheeks. She waved goodbye to the camera and clicked the session over. A few more taps and the post was complete.

Tammy dug into her vintage Louis Vuitton bag, in search of a tissue. Finding the silver case, she clicked the lid open and pulled a soft tissue from the package. As she patted the water from her face, she studied her eyes in the…

--

--

Nanci Arvizu
Plan-B Vibe

Intentionally, relentlessly, consistently pursue your passion. www.nanciwrites.com