EQUAL

Monologue of a woman

Tasneem Kagalwalla
Plan-B Vibe
3 min readMar 22, 2018

--

Just a woman

If you ask me I am tired of proving that I am equal to men.

That I am in no way less, in fact in many ways — I am much more.

I can do everything they can and can’t, hold on, allow me to rephrase that, not only do everything — but actually do it much better than they ever can. Let me prove that point, again and again, time and again, tirelessly, until magazines flaunt my mettle and newspapers headline my feats of valor.

I am a woman. And yet I achieved (insert text here).

Bravo. Let the world cheer. Pronounce me the beacon of inspiration, make news of my success story and bejewel words like empowered, feminist and a woman of wonder to my name.

All this is just great. And why not? After all I stood up against all odds, I faced adversities of unimaginable magnitude and I took fearless leaps of faith. Out of sheer grit and power of will, here I am today.

I deserve the applause. The star spangled banner with my face on it. The acclaim. Respect, name and fame.

I earned it.

But equality? Do I have to do all this to prove that I am equal to men?

What if;

I want to be shy and sensitive? Passive perhaps. A happy introvert, I bet there are many of us out there who prefer soulful solitude over being the centre of attention. What if I want to be emotional and not have to hide it, lest I’m mistaken for just a woman, not one that is equal to men, (a gender that is carrying their own cross for having to not show that side of their personalities. After all, many of us still believe, men don’t cry). What if I don’t want be a leader, out there in the world, just want to lead my nest at home? What if I am not a part of any candle march, crusade, cause or campaign but I have fought many battles of my own, on my own. Without having revealed any daring accomplishments, displayed any heroic acts of bravery, at least none that you got to see or know of, would that then mean I am not equal to men?

Why can’t I just be me and still be seen as equal?

If you ask me I am tired of proving that I am equal to men.

“Men and women have their roles, their roles can be different but their rights are equal” ~ Harri Holkeri

For more follow me @Tasneem Kagalwalla on FB, Twitter and Instagram.

--

--

Tasneem Kagalwalla
Plan-B Vibe

Life Strategist. Trainer. Speaker. Author ~ you are everything you choose to be ~ www.tasneemkagalwalla.com