Home: Where all the Ghosts are.

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Plan-B Vibe
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2018

I lived in the same house since I was a child. I heard stories of our home being haunted told by the neighbor's kids since I moved here. They said old lady crabby pants died in her bed from her son strangling her. I met her son. He sold my mom the house. He did not seem like he would kill his mom, but who knows.

The only ghosts that live in this house are the remnants of my old loves. The old music boxes, stuffed bears, jewelry, and other mementos. Each love I thought was THE great love of my life. One of two moved in. One or two stole from me. Their spirits seem to be haunting me as I live. I dive into relationships without looking. I deal with red flags and being hit. I have learned from my ex’s that real love literally hurts. I have been punched and kicked and well you get the point. Their ghosts haunt me when I am awake and when I am asleep.

Ghosts are not supposed to be able to touch people, but I feel their hatred for me on my skin as I wonder my home. I feel the judgment of past relationships in my blood. It makes my skin slick with sweat. These ghosts of my past are not those of Scrooges, but they are the remnants of all that my life entailed. My body kept in this house because they would not let me go. Their hold might not be physically anymore, but their ghosts keep me from ever moving on or out!

--

--