Six Little Words

Nanci Arvizu
Plan-B Vibe
Published in
11 min readDec 26, 2018

--

Photo by Scott Warman on Unsplash

We’ve been gathering together for years, a group of us ladies in the neighborhood, under the guise of playing Bunco. Yes, we play the game, most of the time. A few members had gone, new ones had come along, but there was a core of us who’ve been here since the beginning.

I am one of the originals, along with Kendra, Elsa, and Inger. The three of them have been friends since grade school. I joined 10 years ago when I moved into the neighborhood.

Tonight it was only the four of us, the rest of the group had bailed. The holidays were upon us and everyone was busy.

Being just us, the energy was different. Calm and we were all grateful for it.

After a few glasses of wine, we put the dice away, content to sit on the back porch under propane heaters, enjoy a clear night, and talk.

Elsa broke the silence we’d been lulled in to under the heat of the lamps. “I never told anyone this,” she started, “but I have to tell you now.”

Kendra and Inger leaned closer. Their relationship gave them this space. I, being the newbie, hung back.

“After high school, I got pregnant and had a baby who was put up for adoption.”

Both Kendra and Inger gasped. “I don’t understand, how could that be? We-” Kendra had a timeline in her head that suddenly wasn’t making…

--

--

Nanci Arvizu
Plan-B Vibe

Intentionally, relentlessly, consistently pursue your passion. www.nanciwrites.com