You shaped hole

January 17, 2019

Kathy Jacobs
Plan-B Vibe
2 min readJan 18, 2019

--

A tilted selfie of the author, October 2017, by Kathy Jacobs

Everyone I know has flown
Here I sit, all alone,
Wallowing in a puddle of self pity

You left a you shaped hole in my heart
Another one in soul has stripped me bare
What I thought I knew you took with you
Leaving behind lies wrapped in secrets
You never expected
Would become unraveled

Everyone I know has flown
Here I sit, all alone,
Wallowing in a puddle of self pity

The only one I see
Works too many hours
Drives too many hours
Has no energy to help
No time, no words
To pull me back to myself

Everyone I know has flown
Here I sit, all alone,
Wallowing in a puddle of self pity

Friends and family are right there
At the other end of my keyboard
Chatting with them
Laughing together, Sharing life
That helps, it’s true
But I miss touch and content

Everyone I know has flown
Here I sit, all alone,
Wallowing in a puddle of self pity

Introverted extrovert
That’s me to the core
I need time alone
But I need time with people
Time to talk, touch, heal
As much as I need time alone

Everyone I know has flown
Here I sit, all alone,
Wallowing in a puddle of self pity

This piece came to me the night before I wrote it. It was inspired by the third anniversary of my mother’s death on January 18, 2016. My life is still trying to fit itself back together after her death. My sisters and I learned so many truths when we started to compare memories. I wish I had had the chance to confront her about some of the memories so I could get past the hurt.

--

--

Kathy Jacobs
Plan-B Vibe

💚POMpoet💚 Former software tester, still breaking things. Social Media geek. Former OneNote MVP. Phoenix Mercury fan. Green Bay Packer fan.