Doing the best I can

The Invisible Worker
The Platform Worker
3 min readJan 9, 2020

The following poems are by workers on the platform Clickworker & Amazon Mechanical Turk

Images: Saskia Hughes

Pushing F5 for the page to refresh,

hoping the next push will bring small success.

Trying to catch jobs that pay a few cents,

for most is a fight that doesn’t make sense.

With thousands at once all in the same cage,

refreshing, refreshing, refreshing the page.

And finally like magic a job will be there,

but be quick on your clicker for none shall be spared.

Some workers, like me, are an introvert breed,

so refreshing the page is worth it indeed.

For others, not worth the time for the wage,

but I will continue to refresh the page.

Doing the best I can

I’m doing the best I can

2018 wasn’t going according to plan

Body failed me

Health evaded me

Needed money to be able to stand

Then discovered a platform online

Making money, not losing my mind

Energy waned

Hope sustained

Clickworker could help me part time

It may be a little here and there

Sometimes life just isn’t so fair

But thank god for this site

When life gave me a fright

Good online work an opportunity so rare

They examine our personalities. They play with our minds.

They make us do menial exercise.

Click on this button. Listen to this sound.

Compare this images. And now you can be proud.

For you’ve helped with research. It will be fun, they say.

And when we complain about the lack of pay.

They tell us it has always been that way.

Thus is the life the grind.

Whatever Works

Went to college but didn’t know

I’d be adrift, nowhere to go

Office jobs

Boring slobs

They said “We told you so…”

Started doing my own thing

Slow money it sometimes brings

Found a job online

Now things are going just fine

And now my wallet it sings

Working Hard

Sitting at home, quit my job

Tired, depressed, feeling like a slob

Family needs cash

Because it’s running out fast

Trying to get on board

Sent out a prayer to the Lord

Found the Clickworker site

Everything was alright

Feeling much better

Whatever the weather

Clickworker thank you so much

--

--

The Invisible Worker
The Platform Worker

A zine exploring work and the internet in contemporary capitalism