SURVIVAL TIPS: INTROVERTS

S. Suzette
The Plethora
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2016

Lets start with this: I AM NOT SHY.

Introversion: Simply means your energy is restored by being alone and/or having time for introspection.

When introverts engage, it pulls on our energy. For those who are not introverted, this is the best I can describe it: I feel the same after a networking event as I do after going to the gym. Except, networking is more of a mental exhaustion. I tend to release a lot of what I muse about while in conversation (conversationalist @ heart). So, after that, I need time to recharge. I’ve been this way all my life and I did not have a name for it until about 2 years ago. I have found useful ways to manage my introversion through trial and error.

So, to my people, I offer a few tips to survive as an introvert:

  1. When on vacation, carve out a day to be alone. There is nothing worse than being out of your usual habitat and also having to be engaged for an extended amount of time. To avoid a melt down, simply tell your travel buddies you’re incorporating a rest day.
  2. Gather your introspection kit. A candle, tea, a book and a journal are my “must haves”. I consider this my introspection kit. Decide what yours looks like and create it! Have it at the ready for vacations, work trips (especially work trips) and alone time.
  3. Respect yourself. Being introverted, you can feel like you let people down when you say no to socializing. I think the opposite is true: if you say yes, only to go out and have a terrible time, you’ve let yourself down, which is must worse.
  4. Communicate! My husband and friends all understand my alone time requirement (thus, they aren’t offended when I’d rather stay at home). They understand because I have shared my needs/wants with them. Please, do not make the mistake of thinking people inherently know you. No one knows you, like you. So, share your personality rhythms with those you love. I have learned, communication allows for proper expectations.

Being an introvert is a fun challenge. I hope these tips help you take on the challenge more effectively!

If you liked this this post (even a little :)) please, recommend & follow!

--

--

S. Suzette
The Plethora

Seeker. Transformation Enthusiast. The Ocean in One Drop. Welcome to my journey ❤