On My Shelf with Gaurav Nemade — Product Manager at Google AI (Mountain View, USA)

Alexander Hipp
PM Library
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2020

About me

Product Manager with Google AI, focussed on bringing the best of AI research to products. I am curious & invested in technologies that will change the world in the next decade. Also, I’m big on empathy and love to meet people to share life experiences & ideas. My favorite quotes: “If you are not failing, you are not growing” and “Asking the right questions is as important as answering them.”

LinkedIn | Twitter

On my shelf

Crucial conversations

Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High
by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan & Al Switzler

My opinion

As a PM, I am often in situations where emotions run high and months of work is at stake. In such difficult times, it is easy to fall back onto our body’s natural responses which is fight or flight, i.e. we can lose our temper or we can shut down. This book is an amazing resource to understand, learn and improve how to handle difficult situations and make the most out of it without derailing the conversation because of ego, temper or personality differences. Learnings from this book are equally useful in personal life.

272 pages, McGraw-Hill Education 2011

Get this book (amazon.com, amazon.de)

Range

Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
by Daniel J. Epstein

My opinion

This book highlights how breadth (not just depth) can fuel innovation. I am a generalist at heart and I like to learn about diverse fields. For many years, I thought of myself as an exception (in a negative way) for not being able to stick to one sub-area. I got bored of things quickly; I read books & watched tv shows ranging from technology to fashion to psychology to finance. The book gave me a good perspective that it may be a feature rather than a bug. Now, I try to build on this feature by seeking inspiration from different sectors in my work.

352 pages, Riverhead Books 2019

Get this book (amazon.com, amazon.de)

The Art of Negotiating the Best Deal

by Seth Freeman (Audible Audiobook)

My opinion

This is part of Audible’s Great Course series and is probably the best resource on negotiation I have encountered in my life. It covers various types of negotiations and strategies ranging from interest-based bargaining (situations where there is a potential for both parties to benefit) to distributed bargaining (situations where one party emerges stronger). It has a lot of interesting case studies, and the audio format is definitely engaging. The course is accompanied by a long pdf as well.

12 hours and 46 minutes, The Great Courses 2014

Get this audiobook (amazon.com, amazon.de)

The Everything Store

Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
by Brad Stone

My opinion

This is an amazing account of how Amazon became what it is today. It highlights Bezos’ cunning business skills, wins and losses of Amazon as a company, and struggles of employees & partners in keeping up with the demanding boss. The biggest learnings for me as a PM were “obsess about the user” and “hypothesize and build for the future”.

384 pages, Little, Brown and Company 2013

Get this book (amazon.com, amazon.de)

How to Win Friends and Influence People

by Dale Carnegie

My opinion

Originally published in 1936, this book is close to a bible for managing and influencing people. It’s often said, “tech is easy, people are hard”, and this has been my personal experience. More often than not, my projects run into hurdles or fail because of people issues, not technological challenges. So as a PM (& as a US immigrant whose first language is not English), this has served as an excellent guidebook, and I highly recommend it.

228 pages, Pocket Books 1936

Get this book (amazon.com, amazon.de)

Our series “On my shelf” features product people from all over the world who are passionate about reading and sharing their best book recommendations with the community. If you want to join the movement and share your reading list with others send us a message. Let’s get better together 📚.

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to get all book recommendations straight to your inbox (One valuable email per month only — promised 🤙)

Follow us

Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | Medium

--

--