My Bearings Are Quite Alright

A sonnet about my addiction to modernity

Anirudh Venkatesh
The Poet
1 min readMay 12, 2017

--

Enough! I’ve had enough of paper smoke
And dense, packed, close constructed mounds of brick -
They suffocate, they crush, they stamp, they choke
Me. All they’ve served to do is quietly trick

The unsuspecting populace that all
Is right and ordered — that the world is still
The paradise it never was, with walls
Presumed to guard against our nature’s will.

Yet here I am, a leech that sits atop
Another, feasting on the red that we
Consume together, loving every bite

That I can bite. I’m deaf to calls to stop,
Despite my cold misgivings, so…with glee -
I watch our bodies dry up livid white.

Putting up a fight

Is far beyond my might.

Experiences unite us. I believe words can provide these experiences. The Poet is just one of many ways to share them.

The Poet fuses my reality and imagination using rhythm and rhyme.

You might also like:

You can have a look at all my articles here:

--

--