The Dog who Freed me

Compassion breeds compassion

Anirudh Venkatesh
The Poet
1 min readApr 29, 2017

--

The shivering abates,
Replaced by tender warmth,
When I bend down to wrap
The old, forgotten dog
In cold December’s street
With love and a blanket.

Outside our bond
The biting cold
Keeps cold hearts cold
And freezes all
That’s left of love
And humanity.

Our indifferences
And our differences
Melt under our feet
As we tread the snow
Down Freedom Avenue.

Paw and foot
Together.
Heart and heart
Together.

How goes it, “Give yourself

And you shall be gifted.”

Experiences unite us. I believe words can provide these experiences. The Poet is just one of many ways to share them.

The Poet fuses my reality and imagination using rhythm and rhyme.

You might also like:

You can have a look at all my articles here:

--

--