Haiku

Camouflage

For International Haiku Day.

Emily Gibson
The Poetry Club
Published in
Apr 18, 2024

--

Storm clouds in gray, white, and steel blue.
Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash

Storm skies swirl about
grey, black, white, no life to count.
Egret, obscured, glides.

Great White Egret flies across gray skies.
Photo by Pete Guan on Unsplash

Inspired to write a Haiku for April 17th, which is International Haiku Day. I had this haiku idea rattling around in the poetry section of my brain for two weeks, ever since I saw this image while driving on I-5 in a storm near the Sacramento Wildlife Refuge north of Sacramento. I realized the egret was camouflaged against the storm thanks to tricks of light and shadow.

Thank you Jason Edmunds for the challenge! You can read all about the challenge here: River Dance. A Haiku for International Haiku Day — … | by Jason Edmunds | The Poetry Club | Apr, 2024 | Medium

This is Poem #108 in my current Poem a Day challenge for 2024.

--

--

Emily Gibson
The Poetry Club

Poet, naturalist, long-distance cyclist, person with MS, teacher, fond of equines... The gift of my MS is poetry,. Absolutely 100% HI, zero AI.