Divided lovers

Paras Ali
The Poetry Club
Published in
1 min readMar 31, 2024

--

A fence separates us
We are monitored by drones
UAVs and surveillance cameras
I’m a hostile threat to you
As a citizen of my land
You sound like a terrorist to me
As a defender of your territory
Two lost parts of the same stem
Now we are foes

Our hands hold swords
No more each others fingers
Pages of forests hide daggers
Where the yearning of yours
Kept wild birds awake from slumber
The streets, the towns, the subways
Where your name I wrote
Nights, noons, dusks and days
Now are military mines
Blood thirsty they rhyme

Caution, mistrust and suspicion
Hang between us
You speak and the bullets drop down
From your mouth round and round
I progress forward
And your personnel pull their trigger
Chin-up, we choose to stare at each other
Eye to eye
Neck to neck
As War criminals
Ready to show the spiteful muscles

--

--