Poetry / Writing Challenge

Forgotten Soldier🎖

No one knows who I am

Brenda Arledge
The Poetry Club
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2024

--

This was written in response to Jason Edmunds article “Different Realities.”

He offers us several prompts, including a few picture prompts to create an article of our own. I’ve decided to use this one below.

Screenshot from Jason Edmunds article

Forgotten Soldier

People walk by me
like I don’t exist
pretending they don’t see me
rolling their eyes in disgust.

What they don’t know
is I’m the one
who fought to keep them and their country safe,
now I’m the one
they want misplaced.

I hear their whispers
calling me a low life,
a bum with no direction,
an alcoholic waiting for his next drink,
a man who doesn’t want to work.

I should be angry,
but instead, it makes me sad
to think the people of this country
are cold-hearted,
especially since they are the ones
I fought so hard to protect.

--

--

Brenda Arledge
The Poetry Club

My passion is poetry. My muse is sparked by emotion & observation. The world is a giant canvas. It waits on us to paint the detail with our words. (HI writer)