Lost in the Knowledge

Prompt 2: The Poetry Club

--

Image by GrumpyBeere from Pixabay

Here I sit amongst books in a plethora of excitement and wonder,

Anticipating with glee what today I might discover,

Will it be foreign places or strangers I have yet to meet,

Or will they toggle my curious mind to learn something sweet,

The books all surrounding me are worn but most loved,

By others before me who are truly beloved,

It is their wish for me to carry the torch,

Of knowledge forthcoming that I will hopefully absorb,

The well-thumbed through pages are tinged with oil and time,

So carefully, I turn each page, rapidly reading each line,

Stopping every so often to sit in my headspace,

My imagination made fertile which I don’t want to waste,

I am glad of this gift from others who write for me,

And the treasures buried between their book spines are totally free.

Thank you, Jason Edmunds, of The Poetry Club, for providing this visual prompt about a boy lost in his books.

© 2024 — Jezebelle Darling - Healing through Writing

--

--

Jezebelle Darling - Healing through Writing
The Poetry Club

Empathically gifted, interested in pleasures of the soul, having an unquenchable yearning for knowledge about humankind and the psychology research behind it.