POETRY ON MEDIUM

Silent Storms

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
The Poetry Club
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Photo by iam_os on Unsplash

Like droplets of water, my feelings
Fall subtly on the ground,
Becoming fluid and spreading slowly.
Slithering and moving like worms,
At their own pace, without worry.
About who’ll put salt on them and kill them.

Maybe I am like that too.
Running endlessly in nameless directions.
Thinking constantly yet wondering
Where should I head?
A space that awaits my arrival,
Anticipating what I’ll bring next.

I guess that looks like seawater.
Glimmering in emerald, all clean,
Like crystal-clear diamonds,
As if they were emitting a ray of hope,
And giving signals and hints
That I should merge into it.

Even though I don’t want to stay afloat,
Yet I feel drawn to the whirlpool.
All chained by strong currents,
That is giving me shocks and surprises.
And shaking like a belly dancer,
Not stopping, but moving together.

If I go, then it’ll be forever.
Because these surfaces are becoming
Heavier and uncontrollable for some reason,
Not giving me relief, yet making me
Feel vulnerable and lighter.
Like a cheap, poisonous dagger.

Who am I, and what are these senses?
Not finding the answers makes me go crazy.
I wonder if I can keep hitting rock bottom like waves.
Rising higher, like tsunami tides, and then
Finally slowing down, only to cause
Chaos burns in my heart.

Merging them into the sea is the best.
It would give them the relief they want.
They might be just emotions and not humans.
But eventually, we must understand them too.
As they go through everything in this world,
Not knowing about the trap of dismay and ordeals.

--

--

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
The Poetry Club

25 || Author || Editor of The Love Pub || I live for words and my heart beats as a writer.