The Face of Time

A Poem

--

Image by Myriams-Fotos from Pixabay

A Poem

Time whispered for me to come closer still,

She yanked her chain angrily as my attention was nil,

I planted feet squarely on her shiny wood floor,

Expecting Time might telepathically deadbolt the door,

I could not escape her maniacal whispers to me hissing,

That indeed my true love’s heart would soon go a missing,

If I didn’t heed her warning that time would stand still,

For, to me, devotion to work/life balance seemed run of the mill!

So, I whispered back to Time that she better make haste,

Or I would pluck out her battery and have endless Time left to waste!

Thanks to all who completely read this short (probably less than 30 seconds) poem. If you could re-read the poem until your 30 seconds are up, I would greatly appreciate it…lol! Thank you, Jason Edmunds of The Poetry Club, for providing this poem prompt!

©Jezebelle Darling - Healing through Writing — May 2024

--

--

Jezebelle Darling - Healing through Writing
The Poetry Club

Empathically gifted, interested in pleasures of the soul, having an unquenchable yearning for knowledge about humankind and the psychology research behind it.