Poetry

Therapist’s Revelation

A Story of Redemption and Romance

AC0040
The Poetry Club

--

Photo by christopher lemercier on Unsplash

Dr. Lana, a therapist, told Ethan
to lie on the dark couch.

Ethan made choices
for a future that
failed to materialize
the results of a slender wife
with which to live his life.

Ethan removed his brown loafers
beside the door.
He had a hole in his black
socks, but the second-hand
embarrassment would
have to wait its turn
to laugh.

After a string of stood-up dates,
lost calls, missed texts,
he hit rock bottom.
Ethan made plans
to visit a shrink
to discuss a future
in love with someone
who’d care.

The welcoming light blue
walls with artwork,
the beauty of which
was subjective,
made for an alluring smile
on his face and a laugh
through his teeth.

Dr. Lana instructed him
to close his eyes.
He did so.

She asked him to picture
a waterfall, and they went
through all he might see,
smell, hear, taste, and touch.

Ethan sucked in a deep breath, held it
for seven seconds, and slowly released
the tension in his chest through
his whistle-formed lips.

“Let’s face it, doc,” he said, “I’m the problem; it’s me.”
“Slow down,” she said. “What do you see?”
“The cascading waterfall
shimmered with a brilliant
emerald hue as it flowed
gracefully downward.
through rocks, moss,
branches, and washed across
a fling’s memories,” Ethan said.
“No,” she said. “That’s not what you see.”
Ethan opened one eye. “What?”
Dr. Lana motioned. “Close them,” she said. “You see what you want to see.”
“Wise words,” Ethan said, his voice tinted with sarcasm.
“Am I right?” she said.
“I see a lot of things; I suppose,” Ethan’s face softened.
“It’s not that simple,” Dr. Lana said.
“Yeah,” Ethan said, lifting and lowering his hands. “It’s not that easy either.”
“Things aren’t as complicated as they seem,” Dr. Lana said. “They never are.”
“The illusion of bliss ran its course
when she didn’t turn up
for a dinner date,” Ethan said. “There, I said it.”

Ethan matched with a woman
on the internet,
and they got on, and made plans
to meet over burgers and beer
at Eden’s Grill.

Ethan waited in a booth,
sipping water and Coke.

After some time, he’d glance at his watch.
A half-hour of keeping to himself to avoid
the inevitable embarrassment turned into an hour.

Ethan left cash for the drink and a tip
for the sweet server.

“You want someone,” Dr. Lana said.
“Why doesn’t anyone want me?” Ethan said, his voice on the brink of cracking.
“It sounds like you’re committed to finding someone.”
“For the right one, yes,” he said, drifting his mind back to the waterfall.
“Have you thought about joining a club?”
Ethan chuckled. “Like a bowling club?”
“Well,” she said, “you never know.”
“I feel God pushing me to find the one online.”
“I want you to continue to focus on the waterfall.”
Ethan sighed. “Okay.”
“What if I told you that I missed dates online, too,” Dr. Lana said.
“Would you think any less of me?”
“Of course not.” Ethan put his hands on his stomach.
“What if I told you that someone’s date was with this guy…”
Ethan waved his finger. “You left some guy waiting at a fancy restaurant,” Ethan said, grinning.
“What if I said the guy was the most attractive guy I’d ever met?”
“Sounds like we all have our problems,” Ethan said.
“It’s more than that,” Dr. Lana said.
“Maybe you need a therapist,” Ethan said, his eyes still on evergreen trees.
“It’s you,” Dr. Lana said.
“Thank you for your empathy.” Ethan continued breathing and wiggling his fingers.
“I’m the one who stood you up,” she said.
Ethan chuckled.
“I’m serious,” she said. “Open your eyes.”
Ethan did and twisted around.
He took a sip of his bottled water on the oak coffee table.
“I didn’t know it,” Dr. Lana said. “I swear it.”
“Show me your profile.”
Dr. Lana already had it on her phone.
“It is you,” Ethan said.
“I was there,” she said. “I had too much anxiety.”
“And you didn’t know who I was?”
“I swear it,” Dr. Lana said.
Her tone softened Ethan’s questions.
“Maybe I owe you an apology,” he said.
Dr. Lana moved a tissue across her damp eyes. “No, of course not,” she said, gesturing.
“I knew who you were,” Ethan said.
“What?” Dr. Lana’s eyes froze in his gaze.
“We didn’t get too personal in our messages, but I put things together, and here I am.” Ethan winked.
Dr. Lana blushed and tucked her long, red bangs behind her ear. “I bet you think I’m a coward.”
“I think I want to get to know you,” Ethan said.
Dr. Lana put her pen and notepad on her desk. “You want to get to know a woman who stood you up?”
Ethan shrugged. “What the heck.”
“You need counseling.” Dr. Lana’s nervous eyes eased into a calm gaze.
“What do you say we go on a date,” Ethan said, standing up.
“I don’t see why not.”
Ethan moved across the tan carpet and laced his loafers. “Are you…” Ethan turned around, and Dr. Lana stripped nude.
“You said you wanted to get to know me.” She gave him a sly wink and a cocky smile. She locked the door.
“We’ve got our whole lives to ruin,” Ethan said, “so why not start now.”

(© 2024 AC)

(Amazon Kindle, Spillwords, The Writers Club)

Other posts at The Poetry Club

--

--

AC0040
The Poetry Club

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. Nonprofit. Education. I write short stories and poems.