payneicus
The Poetry Club
Published in
May 29, 2024

--

Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

This is bonkers.
The rhythm of my day is a palpitating heart laced
with irregular intervals of conflicting thoughts.
I’m going cashews.
Too many months inside the grey cloud has
me going legumes.
Where is the exit sign?
Patiently waiting to precipitate and
collide with the ground.
Feet first—mind right behind.
Sanity versus time and my heart is racing
to catch up before the finish line.
“But I need a little more time!”
says voices from the Columbine that
are shooting up my conscience.
Turn left. No, turn right!
Choose black. No, choose white!
Binary choices, yet whatever I choose I still
have to cite my sources.
Everyone wants to be acknowledged.
Distorted perception has led to
all of these coerced beliefs.
My mind is feeble.
Brain hampered by illusion contusions
leaving the energy burglars ravenous.
Please, stop leeching my mana!

--

--

payneicus
The Poetry Club

half-stepping poet & novelist. full-time thinker. gym junkie.