Under the Shade of Yesterdays--A Poem

We all get tired of trying..

Myla Morningstar
The Poetry Club
1 min read1 day ago

--

Pic by Myla Morningstar via Dalle

Co-written with D. Bloomfield

Under the shade of yesterdays

Stretch the scars of rubble past

Where long forgotten dreams

Turn to pale impoverished hope

Standing before the rake and burn

A hum begins to stir, the insect buzz

Raise the howls of ghosts on ghost on ghost

Picking thru the broken shards

I recall ambrosia drunk

My head an ache, a hammer

Spinning from the blow

The ruins whisper, hush…

here we once

Kept watch, defending all the world

But summer’s gone and all is winter’s snow

I am tired of ebb and gray

My will to seize the spring is wane

I need more of hope than hope

Than hope can ill provide

This mired work is coarse and stained

My arms and legs are spent

Rebuilding up what once, we were

Malevolent in disguise.

This is a bitter cold, this world of remnant fame

I want no more of it. I will not! Be a part of it —

I’ll take for me the savage sleep

Where dreams may yet become

a

Newer hope the bravest dare

Where you & I are in it.

--

--

Myla Morningstar
The Poetry Club

Editor of Tales From the Narc Side, BSU ‘05, Suffered For Years At The Hands of a Narcissist, 4 Dogs, 3 Kids, I live in Idaho