Wanderlust

A (cut-up) Poem

Chantelle Atkins
The Poetry Pub
Published in
Jan 5, 2024

--

Photo by Peter Jan Rijpkema on Unsplash

excluded from running wild
never our land
check your barriers
and thank you for driving carefully
the road gets tough
mixing petrol fumes with coffee and cream
follow the white lines
across a patchwork land
praying the car won’t die
lights coming towards us
ignite our wanderlust
the sea, behind green hills
mist rolling down the valleys
love hurts, I’d rather die
so I carved out a quiet
little
life
for myself

Thank you for reading! I love cut-up poetry and I wrote this during a road trip using the cut-up boxes technique. In one box I wrote things I could hear, in the second box it was things I could see, third was smell and the fourth was what I felt. I then picked my favourite lines and worked out what fit together.

--

--

Chantelle Atkins
The Poetry Pub

Author and owner of Chasing Driftwood Writing Group and Chasing Driftwood Books. Owner of The Wild Writers Club publication. https://chantelleatkins.com/