I Used To Say I Fell In Love With You

A poem about what it means to love.

Jessica Spencer
The Poetry We Live For

--

Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

I used to say

I fell

in love with you.

I made a liar of myself.

For if I fell,

I would land, smash, crack.

But

loving you isn’t scary.

Loving you has never

left me

with the threat that

I could break.

One day, I just knew.

One day, I loved you.

But

if I am wrong?

If loving means falling,

then I know I’ll never stop.

This love in its infinity

will leave me

with no ground

to break on.

Every day, I fall farther.

Every day, I love harder.

--

--

Jessica Spencer
The Poetry We Live For

A writer who wants to be a radio presenter and publish books that will change someone’s world. Interested in mental health, feminism and relationship writing.