A Pokemon GO Adventure in Andersonville!

Timothy R. Dunn
The Pokémon Journal
4 min readJul 10, 2016

Hey everybody! My name’s Tim, and I love two things in life:

  1. My girlfriend, Lisa.
  2. Pokemon GO!

So today, while Lisa had some errands to run in Andersonville, I thought it’d be a great opportunity to sneak off and see what kinds of monsters I could catch in that neighborhood. C’mon, let’s go fnd some Pokemon!

Hey look at that, a Raticate! One thing that’s cool about this game is that it takes the environment into account when generating Pokemon. I found this Raticate while walking down an alley, a natural environment for rats.

However, it looks like there are a few wild cards in Andersonville as well! This Shellder would normally only exist in a water environment, but I found it right at the corner of Foster and Ashland. How cool!

Whoa and here’s and Electabuzz I found while walking up Clark street, north of Foster. This one definitely took a few throws to capture!

Uh oh! And look who I snuck up on while I was hunting for this Pidgey? Looks like my girlfriend’s done with her errands and we can head off to find some new Pokemon on this fine afternoon.

Oh hey cool, my old college roommate Bryan just showed up! Maybe I should jump out and surprise them, and then we can all grab some food or hunt for Pokemon together!

Anyway, the great thing about low-level pokemon like these is that they’re easy to catch. Then, once you have them, it’s up to you whether you want to evolve them or…

Okay cool, so it looks like Andersonville is home to a lot of normal-, water-, and electric-type Pokemon, so head up here if you’re missing any of those. I think I’m going to head over to Bucktown next, maybe by where my ex-girlfriend lives. I hear there are some dragon pokemon over there, and also, she fucking appreciated me.

--

--