About That So-Called Apology From Sean (Diddy) Combs

It Isn’t Always Better Late Than Never

William Spivey
The Polis
Published in
7 min readMay 20, 2024

--

By Like_the_Grand_Canyon — Flickr: Sean Diddy Combs, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=15946884

By now, many people have seen the video of Sean “Diddy” Combs in a hotel hallway, dragging, throwing, and kicking (twice) his then-girlfriend, Cassandra “Cassie” Ventura.

In the days after, Diddy released a video in which he admitted it was him in the video and profusely apologized. It is that video I’m responding to.

I’ve seen many “apology” videos, most coming from politicians and offering non-apology apologies where they never admit wrongdoing while claiming to take “full responsibility” for the unknown acts they don’t acknowledge. I’ve always longed to hear an apology in which someone says, “I’ve been accused of this (outlining specifics), I did it, this is how I plan to address it, these are the people I’ve hurt…

--

--

William Spivey
The Polis

I write about politics, history, education, and race. Follow me at williamfspivey.com and support me at https://ko-fi.com/williamfspivey0680