The New "Decider," Ron DeSantis Decides What Is Appropriate Black History

“The Proposed Course Lacks Educational Value”

William Spivey
The Polis
Published in
4 min readJan 23, 2023

--

Photo at Pixabay

The year was 2006; the context was a constant drumbeat of criticism of then-President George W. Bush about keeping his failing Defense Secretary, Donald Rumsfield, and his prosecution of the Iraq war, Bush said:

“I listen to all voices, but mine is the final decision, and Don Rumsfeld is doing a fine job. He’s not only transforming the military, he’s fighting a war on terror. He’s helping us fight a war on terror. I have strong confidence in Don Rumsfeld. I hear the voices, and I read the front page, and I know the speculation. But I’m the decider, and I decide what is best. And what’s best is for Don Rumsfeld to remain as the secretary of defense.”

Bush was right that deciding who remained in his Cabinet was within his purview. Cabinet officers are appointees serving at the President's will, and he chooses when they come and go. That is not only his right but his responsibility. George W. Bush introduced "the decider" into the…

--

--

William Spivey
The Polis

I write about politics, history, education, and race. Follow me at williamfspivey.com and support me at https://ko-fi.com/williamfspivey0680