Woke, DEI, CRT, Etc. Are Code Words For The N-Word.

Garrick McFadden
The Polis
Published in
6 min readApr 26, 2024

--

Burning crosses, wearing a Klan hood, and saying the N-word are the only acts that white people have deemed as actual racism in America, so racists have found ways to evolve.

On one of the rare occasions, my mother coaxed my dad to accompany my mom, brother, and me to the small storefront black church we attended. It was one of those old black churches where you were expected to attend not only the church service but, somehow, Sunday school was mandatory. The ordeal lasted about five hours, not including the 30-minute car ride from the suburbs to the black side of Minneapolis, MN.

The promise of barbeque at Valentino's was the bribe she used to get my then-conservative father to endure the marathon of receiving the Word that day. To this day, I do not understand what the allure of this restaurant was, but then again, I was regulated to the children’s menu. This restaurant had an air of sophistication. The tables were adorned with white tablecloths, and napkin holders restrained the linen napkins. It was everyone’s favorite but mine. It was a special occasion restaurant for my family.

It was one of those false spring days in Minnesota when the temperature suddenly rose to a balmy 46 degrees after we had withstood a devastating onslaught of endless sub-zero days.

--

--

Garrick McFadden
The Polis

I am a civil-rights attorney. I write about #whiteness, #racism, #hiphop, policing & politics. https://gamesqlaw.com/index.php/thoughts/