POLITICAL DISCOURSE

Booing Libertarians Signal Trouble for the Trump Campaign

The former president meets unforeseen resistance in Washington from what should be a natural part of his base

Allen Therisa
The Political Prism
3 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Donald Trump found himself in trouble on Saturday when protestors interrupted a speech the former president was giving to the Libertarian National Convention in Washington DC.

Despite the presence of many supporters in the audience, the former president was met with a mix of heckles and boos while speaking.

“This is the first time in U.S. history that the presidential candidate of a rival party will address the convention of a party that is presumably gathering to nominate its own candidate,” Trump said. “Now I think you should nominate me or at least vote for me, we should win together.”

Cue more booing from a large part of the audience.

“I am asking for the libertarian endorsement or at least lots of your votes, lots and lots of libertarian votes on my outstanding four-year presidential record,” Trump continued, despite the growing commotion.

--

--

Allen Therisa
The Political Prism

British author, fascinated with culture, politics and history. I write about everything from current events to music, movies and YT videos that make me laugh.