bugs n slugs

National Poetry Month, April 3 #NaPoWriMo

Skye Nicholson
The POM
Published in
2 min readApr 3, 2021

--

Image by author

ain’t fair really. all them bugs n slugs was come by honestly, I mean
what did they THINK was gonna happen when they got in the way of
my new blue spade? they actually had it pretty good in there
what with all the pulled-up grass and dandelion heads.
oughta have been grateful really, I mean

maybe it did get a lil bit crazy
when I put that hairy ole spider in with em, but
I ain’t see no reason they couldn’ta
just been happy hangin out in that brown box, I mean
I don’t know why they thought to go’n have an adventure
down the front of my dresser
right as mom was puttin away my underwears. I mean,
ain’t really fair.

This was written in response to The POM’s National Poetry Month writing challenge — Prompt #3, Write a Silly Poem!

--

--

Skye Nicholson
The POM

Woman, mom, teacher, writer, unicorn-lover, tree-hugger, magic-seeker, fox spirit, crier, human. Writing about life: my years of drinking and my awakening.