Close Your Eyes

A Lullaby

Roy Reichle
The POM

--

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Refrain

Close your eyes, go to sleep
Pray the Lord, your soul to keep

Verse I

The sun is a’ sinkin’, He waves his goodbyes.
The stars are a twinklin’ and the moon’s on the rise.

Refrain

Verse II

Float on your pillow, hold Teddy tight
You’re off on a journey, across the night.

Refrain

Verse III

Rock in your cradle, like a ship on the sea
Dream of Heaven, and dream of me.

Refrain

Verse IV

Sleep is an island, you walk on her sand
But don’t be afraid, God’s holding your hand

Refrain

Verse V

When you land on the morning, I’ll be waiting for you
And we’ll break our fast on sunshine and dew.

Refrain

When my children were young, I used to sing to them. One night, while I
ad libbed a bluesy tune and some verses, I noticed, “Hey, these are pretty good.” So with my two children next to me, I continued repeating each verse and…

--

--

Roy Reichle
The POM

Poet, Writer, Rock climber, Fitness Coach. I live in the present — breath by breath.