Corona of the Sun

Response to POM thematic prompt

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The POM

--

Image by Piotr Siedlecki (publicdomainpictures.net)

This poem was written in response to the first thematic poetry prompt by POM (Poets on Medium). The prompt instructed respondents to choose one or more words from a list that focused on the theme of the COVID 19 outbreak. According to the instructions the poem did not actually have to be about the Coronavirus, the words were intended to provide inspiration.

As has been the case for over a week now, my poetry efforts are focused on the sudden loss of a friend that has hit me hard. I am struggling to make sense out of it, something I think we all attempt to do when something like this happens to someone far too young to pass away and completely out of blue.

I am beginning to regain my feet a bit instead of wandering through my apartment feeling like a ghost, as if the world isn’t real, floating through the hours until it’s time to sleep. I first noticed that instead of focusing just on the pain (though there is still plenty of this left) that I’m starting to shift just slightly towards memories of spending time with him through the years. This too, brings some pain at the thought of not being able to create any additional memories but I am able to call one to mind for brief periods before having to think of something else for a bit.

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The POM

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank