Girl on the steps

An intergalactic love poem

Alex Godley
The POM

--

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

There once was a girl who sat on the steps
of my apartment building each and every
day

She never spoke to anyone as they passed by
but just smiled
politely

Sometimes she would glance my way
and our eyes would
interlock

Like two stars headed for
an interstellar binary
collision

Our gravitational waves would
pull one towards
the other

And then she would look away
and write in her thick, black
journal

This went on for nearly a year and a half
until one day she was
no longer there

And all that was left was that
lonesome journal
on the steps

I picked it up and leafed through
the well-worn
pages

It was a memoir that she had
written about me
and her

--

--

Alex Godley
The POM

I’m a humble bard who likes to play with words and create new worlds. I also like chocolate. And cake.