I am putting my mind to flowers

A Poem

Jenny Justice
The POM

--

Photo by Al Soot on Unsplash

I am putting my mind to flowers
Because the rest of it is all too much

I wake up, petals open
I sleep, petals curl up

Everything is so soft
But of course, there are thorns

Everything is graceful
But of course, pollen makes me sneeze

It’s always this balance
Between love and appreciation, between fawning over and obsessing

And between being aware of the
Things that poke and sting

The things that make
Eyes water and noses run,

Hashtag not all flowers
I know, and I also know

The price of a few sneezes is worth it.

‌‌Jenny‌ ‌Justice‌, Poet.‌ ‌Sociologist. Teacher. Mother. Woman. Author‌ ‌of‌ ‌Love‌ ‌in‌ ‌the‌ ‌Time‌ ‌of‌ ‌Climate‌ ‌Change‌ ‌and‌ ‌Reveal.‌ ‌You‌ ‌can‌ ‌read‌ ‌more‌ ‌of‌ ‌her‌ ‌poetry‌ ‌at‌‌ ‌Justice‌ ‌Poetic.‌‌ ‌‌Sign‌ ‌up‌ ‌for‌ ‌her‌ ‌newsletter‌ ‌‌here‌.‌

This is another one for our Floral Week. Thanks Tapan Avasthi. Check out these for more information on our lovely writing prompt and of course, more floral

--

--

Jenny Justice
The POM

Writer| Mom | Poet | Book Nerd | Teacher? | Brings Poetry to life with empathy, connection, joy, justice, and feeling. Poetry Fangirl