My mistakes

Brando
The POM
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2019
source: https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-person-people-old-34534

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
At night when I lay my head to rest.
On a cold Monday night in the form of red wine.
Wednesday on my way back home from work
Three tall glasses in the form of vodka and coke.

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
Pushing friendships away
For reasons I can’t even explain.
Destroying relationships
For the amusement
Of how easy things can break.

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
Laughing with friends on a Tuesday afternoon
Swallowing dangerous amounts of bourbon
Wondering why the fuck we feel so blue.
Thursday mornings felt so grey
Wishing the day would end.
Counting the hours and minutes
Knowing tomorrow would bring forth a better feeling.

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
In the lonely deep dark thoughts stuck in my mind.
Giving a cold hard exterior to protect and hide
What I have inside.

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
In dreams I can’t explain
Running from a speeding train.

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
In the form of an investigator
In a interrogations room
Using confusing words to make my alibi bulletproof

My mistakes visit me from time to time.
In the form of a red car with three wheels
A near death experience that felt surreal.
Dark Friday nights when I stare at my empty glass of whiskey
Damn the things I have done that won’t let people forgive me.

My mistake will visit me all the time.
Until someone lays me to rest
With a black suit and a black tie.
Until I see that last night
And I see that last star
And whisper goodnight.

--

--

Brando
The POM
Writer for

Occasional writer of things and everything else dark.