My shining lamp

Akumbe
The POM
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Photo by Jason Peter on Unsplash

With my shining lamp, I wished my dreams.

I won’t deny I did it quite a lot of times.

But It didn’t stop me either.

I wasn’t even the best nor the worst.

It’s a pity you don’t dream.

It’s a pity I can’t sing.

The music banging in my head,

I wish you could hear it.

Have you ever heard a good voice?

It will strip you of every thread of sorrow.

Smiles will sprawl from your chicks.

Your heart will beat so fast you will think you are flying.

Happiness will blow you away like a dandelion.

It’s hard to understand love when you have felt none.

It’s hard to understand wealth and privileges when you are born into one.

Just like it’s hard to dream high of yourself.

When you don’t know the power of wonders and miracles.

Even as I love home and the road back home.

The unforeseen circumstances were always unpleasant.

I still love home.

Maybe we can’t change where we come from,

--

--

Akumbe
The POM

Every day I have images in my head. I can’t interpret some and I would love to share. Writer | Poet | YouTube spoken words l Author. linktr.ee/gerrywrites