Not Meant To Be

A poem of changed love

Chelsia Ortiz
The POM
1 min readJul 10, 2020

--

Photo by burak kostak from Pexels

Years have gone by
Yet things have not changed
The ease in which we speak remains the same

Once my lover
Now my best friend
Until the past and the anger arise again

So much rage
So much heartbreak
Yet so much honesty and love

I am happy now
In my life
If only you could find it, too

Maybe then,
Just maybe,
We could be true friends

Maybe then you could accept
That friends are all we will ever be
That there will never be room for more

I wish you love
I wish you joy
I wish you a bright future

Someday you will look back and see
That things happened as they have for a reason
And we were not meant to be

--

--

Chelsia Ortiz
The POM

Chelsia Ortiz is a passionate writer who cares deeply about the mental well-being and health of others.