Oh Sunday!

Ganesh B
The POM
Published in
1 min readMay 14, 2020
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

Oh Sunday!
You bring many joys
To many a soul’s cheer.
But I do not rejoice,
For you are the harbinger of fear.

The dread of the Monday blues
Early on your day, it begins.
The fear of the next morning
Descends, shooting pins
All across my body, on your evening.

Your existence brings in
A hiatus in my harsh punishments.
The flogging goes through the week
But pauses on your day for a few moments
Only to start again with a flick.

During the week
I get used to the painful play.
Your pause makes me forget it
Only to be amplified the next day
To be endured bit by bit.

The thought of the ensuing pain
Makes me fear you.
So, many weeks, I continue
Bearing the pain with no rescue
Even on your day, slogging I do!

This poem was written in response to the POM Prompt #15:

--

--

Ganesh B
The POM

Teacher by passion; manager by education; educationist by profession; coach by experience; baker by interest; coder by curiosity; poet by emotion