Resonance

Finding the way to quiet poignancy

Rachel Ramkaran (she/her)
The POM

--

A Romanesque Revival style building at dusk at a major intersection with cars passing through.
A main intersection in Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Photo courtesy of the author

The beeping,
the bustling,
the buzzing,
the noise.

Is this city
louder or
have I become
more quiet?

Desensitization
acquiesces
to prickling
sensitivity.

My skin crawls
at clangs and
bangs that distract
creative thought.

Living in the
jumbled jungle,
metropolitan
life exhausts.

I have reached
an age and stage
that begs of me
to rest.

The rushing,
the fussing,
the pushing
for more

worked for my
younger self
now lost to
the march of time.

Presently I find in
me softness and
openness that’s
better self-attuned.

--

--

Rachel Ramkaran (she/her)
The POM

Weaver of words. Seeker of flow. Curious generalist. Poetry, fiction, non-fiction, creativity, self, relationships, food, justice & more. https://bit.ly/354BO7C