POETRY | SENRYU SERIES

Seasons Marked by Temperament

Dusted-off poem on the foibles of marriage

Ravyne Hawke
The POM

--

Image by dohtar @ istockphoto.com (purchased)

i.

Winter, a shut-in
my cold-crested toes shiver
lonely under covers

numb and abandoned
you’ve slept on the couch again
blanketed by snow

frozen bitterness
another farce of marriage
biting, wind-chilled bones

ii.

Spring, life’s renewal
but no gardens flourish here
abandoned as weeds

I plow-on ahead
you crush young shoots underfoot
forsaken efforts

blue jays sing
no melody enchants me
detached by your screams

iii.

Summer’s angered heat
your thunderous rage strikes me
tosses me asunder

trapped inside my room
no sunlight upon my face
artificial air

from window, watching
you bar-b-que a new life
I am coal and ash

iv.

Autumn, death imparts
I am dry, skeletal leaves
scattered by gust-winds

rotted by your reign
raked by tormented anger
my spirit buried

trampled by your rage
you disregard the dying
no life with you here

©2013 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved. (Revised 2020)

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Love, Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
The POM

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh