Six heavy loads of life

Ganesh B
The POM
Published in
2 min readMay 14, 2020
Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

Seven and a half pounds,
Is what I am born.
First time on the grounds,
Earth as it is known.

The heavy weight I carry
Lasts for a life time.
Perhaps I am so wary
For two years, I only mime.

The weight of expectation
Pushes me down.
Despite my feet’s trepidation
I shouldn’t frown.

Six heavy loads upon me
Are placed in timed intervals.
No time for any reprieve
Until time rings in the death bells.

School is my first load
That sets in a fear of future.
Second load is the road
Filled with friends who care.

The next load is the career
That I carry a long way.
Love is a heavy load dear
Which I carry night and day.

The fifth load are the kids
To whom I transfer some weights.
Six is when my old-age-needs
Make me aware that death awaits.

I try hard to carry all of them
Mostly merry, never giving up.
I try and avoid any cataclysm.
With care, I take each step.

But true happiness and calm
Is when I unload them all down
And peacefully embrace the arms
Of my death unknown.

Written as a response to #POMprompt #14 on POM. Loved the challenge Christina M. Ward ❤. Thank you!

--

--

Ganesh B
The POM

Teacher by passion; manager by education; educationist by profession; coach by experience; baker by interest; coder by curiosity; poet by emotion