Sleepwalking with Dad

Brian Clark
The POM
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2021

--

A dream like no other

Photo by Angelo Duranti from Pexels

I’m lying in bed
Just barely sleeping
Alphabetizing the sheep
Until I start dreaming

I’m squinting my eyes
The lighting’s quite dim
He enters the picture
Now could that be him?

It’s been almost 30 years
Would I recognize?
My father who raised me?
I’d remember those eyes

Something about him seems different
Something that he lacks
Hearing his voice from across the room
Completely brings me back

My dream is so vivid
It’s like he’s right here
We chat at the bar
Over burgers and beer

He asks about my son
Is he learning in school?
I say “he’s a talker”
And like you he’s cool

I have so many questions
I hope he won’t leave
Stumbling over my thoughts
The words won’t retrieve

How was I as a son?
I ask him be real
He won’t talk about me
Nothing revealed

How can I be a good dad?
I thought he was the best
He said just be there for him
And let love do the rest

How about when a bully comes to town
And shuffles his mind?
Tell him to bottle up some courage
And protect his behind

I’m sad he couldn’t meet my son
Granddad status was denied
He said he’s watching from above
Swelling with pride

I don’t want to wake up
I’m afraid he will go
With unanswered questions
Left out all untold

What’s one thing you want to know
Before I go back through the gates?
I have a question that almost comes out
But then I’m shaken awake

I tell my wife I had a dream
And I’m ready to rejoice
She says why are you talking like that
What happened to your voice?

--

--

Brian Clark
The POM
Writer for

Personal Trainer, Engineering Manager, Poet, Juggler, Struggling Guitarist, Dad & Husband.