Stay.

Pooja Hariharan
The POM
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2021
Image by Ishan on Unsplash

I watch the roads,
I watch the skies
I watch it all, everyday
day and night.

From the day I was brought to life.
I see now and remember the old days.
Alone and lonely, I longed for a few friends.
Sometimes I felt I should just leave,
but I have a promise to keep -
To protect those under my roof, till my last breath.

I waited patiently and I saw
this obscure town become a bustling city.
In a few years, I started meeting many of my own kind,
in whom I searched for a friend.

Some wanted to stay alone, some had their own groups.
I waited some more, and found my friend too,
who stayed right beside me.

We had each other’s back, and we enjoyed watching our city grow together.
We even got a new look once in few years as we got older.
Day in day out, we stood together watching the city grow and hustle.

But all came to a standstill over a year ago.
The roads lay barren,
and the only sound we hear is of the siren.
We are scared and worried.
but we have no time to talk but only hurry
and try to keep ourselves warm, comfortable, and cozy
for you.

To protect you, who depend on us, all I ask you is to, never leave me.

Sincerely,
Your home.

--

--