Still

Golden Pen
The POM
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2021
Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

It feels like the quiet after a heavy storm. The momentary silence that destruction leaves in its wake…

It feels like I am walking in a ghost town ravaged by an unforeseen hurricane…and I am the only survivor.

I tentatively lift my hand to my cheek, seeking confirmation that I still live. Then a cold breeze suddenly hits my face and my teeth chatter as I let out a small shiver, confirming that I am indeed alive.

I slowly lift my gaze and it is met with a picture of leaves gently swaying to the cleansing frequency of nature. For a moment, I am reminded how full and satisfying life can be.

The birds chirp in the background, seemingly oblivious to the grueling ordeal I have just survived. A sigh of envy escapes my lips, as I ponder how the universe seldom deviates from its natural order even when my world is in a constant state of chaos.

An asteroid may be about to shatter my world but the earth will continue to rotate on its axis, slyly mocking my inability to regulate myself as well as it regulates itself.

But am I not nature too..? When will it be my turn to achieve a state of infinite order?

Sitting in ominous stillness with my questions for company, the sun sets…Of course it sets…it always sets…

The air around me still feels light, silent. Like the silence after a heavy storm.

As I watch the sun slowly disappear over the horizon, I know without a doubt that it will rise again tomorrow, as it always does.

But for the first time, I do not question if I will rise with it…

--

--

Golden Pen
The POM
Writer for

▪️Reader ▪️Writer ▪️Observer ▪️Storyteller