Street Cat

A Poem

Chelsia Ortiz
The POM
2 min readJun 24, 2020

--

Photo by David Bartus from Pexels

A new day
Loud sounds
Delicious smells

Find food
That bird looks nice
Fat and full

Too fast
A mouse will do
Yum

Time to visit my friends
The boy in the yard with the roses
He is always good for a scratch behind the ears

He laughs as I bat around a flower
Little games for a little child
I let him hug me today

The lovely witch in the cottage
Surrounded by trees
Her calming energy helps me relax

In return, I help her with her work
Keep the nasty spirits away
Give her room to read her cards

Ah, look
The Tomcat sees me
Sorry, friend, you know I don’t mate

The old woman gives me food
Smells unnatural
Tastes delicious

Her time will come soon
I will stay closer to her tonight
Make sure her soul goes peacefully

Her housecats see me
They can be fun to play with
But they are not good for a hunt

The delivery man with his treats
I let him pet me for luck
He will get home safely tonight

Ah, the man with the cigarettes
His smoking stinks
But he seems sad

Darkness surrounds him
I rub against him
He brightens just a little

Ah, my daughter
She is in the window
She has a human

I made sure she would stay safe
Stay inside
Protect her humans and let them feed her

The little girl sees me
She calls me pretty
I am beautiful

I let her pet me
The woman she is with shoos me away
Ingrate knows not who I am

Hide! Hide! Hide!
The man with the net comes
He wishes for me to live among humans

I hide within a hollow tree
He passes without seeing
Safe. Safe. I am safe.

Hungry again
Back to the old woman
She is fading

She feeds me from a can that smells of people
The meal fills me
I settle on her lap

Sleep comes for me
In the night I awake
To usher her soul to somewhere safe

“Thank you, Kitty”
She is gone
Safe. Safe where she belongs

I stay where I am
I will stay for the night
Tomorrow I will visit my friends once again

--

--

Chelsia Ortiz
The POM

Chelsia Ortiz is a passionate writer who cares deeply about the mental well-being and health of others.