Sweet Home

Free verse poem for #Wingsweek

Gloria D. Gonsalves
The POM
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Someone built me a home
with sweetness found in the wild;
maybe to give my wings a rest
from flapping and twirling,
or pulling a muscle for a buzz.

This home of heavenly sweetness
is a one-room with many doors
where my goings and comings
are infinite of winged chores
to add more sweetness to it.

This home, an entrapment
of what I need and they need
is a dwelling for clipped wings
and I must fly back to the wild.

Thank you for reading this poem for #Wingsweek. You might also enjoy reading another poem from the same prompt here. Gratitudes to Christina for the prompt.

Gloria is a prolific author of children’s stories. She is also a multi-published poet and her poetry has appeared in various literary magazines and journals including featured four times by National/Global Poetry Writing Month (Na/GloPoWriMo). You can find her books here.

--

--

Gloria D. Gonsalves
The POM

I read quietly. Here for mostly poetry. I post occasionally and, during my absence, enjoy the pinned index. More at www. gloria-gonsalves.com