The Crystal Shores

Julian Kemp
The POM
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2020
Photo by Sean O. on Unsplash

They say there’s a place
Where time isn’t present
Where the waves lap over the shore
And it almost looks fluorescent

So from then on
I had one goal
I wanted to see this place
Of which I’d been told

I arrived at the town
In search of my site
I asked the old man
Who sipped on his Sprite

“This place you speak of
is real as much as me.
I’ll take you there myself,
but not for free.”

We hopped in his Jeep
And away we drove
Down a lost dirt road
In search of the cove

After driving for an hour
There was a break in the trees
The crystal shores revealed themselves
And I was brought to ease

The old man spoke again
With a tune in his words.
“I’m happy you’re here,
but watch for the birds.”

Down they came
Swooping down from the skies
Colorful birds of gigantic size and shape
Were a great surprise

This was the place I’d been looking for
Its uniqueness apparent
I looked out into the ocean
Its beauty inherent

I stripped down to my bathing suit
And prepared to take a swim
The water was magical
A moment never dim

Although it was a whimsical place
I could not stay
Although I must return
Someday

So then I left
Reluctantly, but still
This place of whimsy
Will never bring me a chill

I will return one day
To see it again
I will return someday
To see whats truly within

Perhaps I’ll live here
Build a house on the shore
Who's to say I won’t?
Them, I will ignore

--

--

Julian Kemp
The POM
Writer for

I’m an aspiring writer looking to put myself out there and write, while building my portfolio and gaining unmeasurable experience in the field