The Essence of My Mother

Julian Kemp
The POM
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2020
Photo by Xavier Mouton Photographie on Unsplash

My mother’s birthday is July 23rd, and seeing is how I already got her a gift, what’s one more, right?

I wrote this poem for her. It might not be my best work, but it’s true and absolute in my feelings for my dear mom.

Love ya momma!

Vibrant, strong and passionate
Her auburn hair whipping in the wind
Her proud voice, shouting in a sea of whispers
That, is the essence of my mother

She stands tall when others sit
She refuses to bow when others kneel
She is the epitome of strength
She is the definition of determined

She is there for me nor here, nor there, but everywhere
She is built, yet fragile
She is graceful, yet inelegant
She is imperfect, and yet perfect at the same time

I can’t describe my mother more
I know she will be with me forevermore
I can’t live without her, she gave me life
Which quite often fills me with strife

She is often the solution, never the problem
Her hair glistening like autumn
I love my mother, from now until the end
No one else can contend

--

--

Julian Kemp
The POM
Writer for

I’m an aspiring writer looking to put myself out there and write, while building my portfolio and gaining unmeasurable experience in the field