The Hurt Doesn’t Hurt Anymore

A Poem About Pain

Arslan Ali
The POM

--

Photo by nikko macaspac on Unsplash

Trigger warning: Suicide

The hurt doesn’t hurt anymore
the water isn’t cold anymore
nothing hurts like before.

Anxiety-ridden, that’s how I’ve been living
all the places I went, they've been unforgiving
My pain never stopped digging
Will I ever find something relieving?

Why is the world so bleak?
Why am I so weak?
Too much pain, too many chains, too many sins
That’s how it begins, till everything out of control spins
too fast to seek, too confusing to speak.

Thought I’d be safe here
thought that God my prayers would finally hear here
But if my pain doesn’t, then I’ll be the one who has to disappear.

I made memories with people who now are just memories
To this gaping hole in my chest, I find no remedy
Are these mountains going to be sceneries
to my death? Because it seems like my pain never heals.

I gave you the chance to save me
In your ear, I shouted my last plea
But you didn’t listen, see?

Now it’s too late
Straight through the gate
and over the cliff, I’ve jumped, to meet my fate.

And now the hurt doesn’t hurt anymore,
the water isn’t cold anymore,
nothing hurts like before.

--

--

Arslan Ali
The POM

Code artist by the day, writer by the night. Bookworm living in Italy.