POETRY

The Morning Alights

a Pantoum

Christina M. Ward
The POM
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

Photo by Storiès on Unsplash

The morning alights with gentle calm
in this windswept faerie glen,
and I shiver from the cold ,
touched by the ancient tales, untold.

In this windswept faerie glen
I hear the whispers of a thousand faerie lights
touched as the ancient tales unfold,
yearning to carry on their songs of old.

I hear the whispers of a thousand faerie lights
bursting through the morning mist
yearning to carry on their songs of old
But, I am too weary for music.

Drifting through this morning mist
I gather the hems of my skirt, make haste!
Alas, I am too weary for music
and this road I travel is long.

I gather the hems of my skirt, make haste,
as I shiver from the cold.
This road I travel is long,
but morning alights in gentle calm.

This is the first time I have written a Pantoum, but I enjoyed the form. I really like forms that have repeating lines and often will…

--

--

Christina M. Ward
The POM
Editor for

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon